Some people think that housing facilities should be built in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while others believe that parks should be set instead. Planting trees is very important for the environment. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the kind of facilities that should be built in the cities' unused places often divides opinions. Some people contend that residency construction is the best option, while others prefer gardens instead of housing for their environmental benefits. I strongly agree with the idea of developing parks instead of habitats for various reasons. First and foremost, building more gardens will absorb rainwater and prevent flood during the rainy season. This is because metropolis are dominated by skyscrapers and buildings, whereas they lack greeneries which significantly contribute to water absorption. Building more trees in the urban parks will possibly prevent such disasters, for instance, in Jakarta, which is prone to such disasters, especially when the water moves from higher places like Bogor. Therefore, more trees will be beneficial for citizens in significant towns, mostly for their contribution to flood prevention. Subsequently, constructing habitats in vacant areas in big towns will overcrowd the place, particularly for big cities which already have too many inhabitants. There are other options, like renovating apartments to add more rooms or constructing new clusters in the suburbs, which make the metropolis less likely to be congested. One clear example is once again in Jakarta, where every edge of the town is already packed with accommodations, businesses, and office buildings, whereas adding more residency in the city will overwhelm its inhabitants. Thus, building recreational areas such as parks is a better choice in order to spare some space to relax in a crowded city. To summarise, there can be no doubt that parks are paramount compared to housing facilities as a verdict to utilise vacant areas in big cities, A viewpoint I staunchly endorse. This is because greeneries are effective at preventing natural disasters such as floods and spare some spaces in urban planning, which is mostly dominated by buildings.