Increasingly, many governments around the world are choosing to provide greater funding for scientific and technological development rather than investing in arts and culture. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the governments prefer to invest in the fields of science and technology and ignore the importance of the arts and culture. Personally, I think this choice could have a negative influence on the society, and the following content will list the reasons. Arts and culture are the way to express the feeling and release the pressure. While the community only focus on the practical and efficient usage of the profession, most of them will neglect the mental aspect, therefore, many of the them accumulate the pressure and finally cause psychological diseases. For instance, during the lock down, plenty of workers suffered from mental illness because they couldn’t find a way to relax, so several psychologists suggested people to learn about arts which can assist people to release their accumulated stress. The various kinds of arts and culture build this colorful world. If there is a nation which only focus on practical profession and develop nothing about the culture, it could become a boring and stressful place for living. Culture deeply roots in people ’s lives, for example, the foods, clothes and festivals, all of these elements create people ’s colorful lives. Furthermore, unique culture and arts can not only make people ’s lives more interesting but also the governments can get benefits from tourism. In conclusion, the culture and arts can make people having a exciting lifestyle and maintain the psychological health for the people, hence, these are the main reasons for me to financially support the development in these fields.