With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction. Do you think it is important to protect animals? What measure can be taken to deal with this problem?

With an ever-increasing human population, the competition for resources has significantly negatively impacted the welfare of many animal species. This essay will discuss why animals should be protected and how this issue can be addressed. Firstly, it is important that animals are protected because each species is an integral component of the ecosystem we inhabit. Their roles can be as part of the food chain or in performing another important function for other species. Therefore, if one species is lost this can negatively impact other species and, therefore, our entire ecosystem. For example, lions in Africa keep the numbers of their prey in balance by removing weak and sick members of their herd, consequently, avowing over-proliferation and the damage it causes to the environment. Another example is that bees, pollens are carried from plant to plant by bees, consequently, increasing the population of plants on earth. Ensuring that local human populations have adequate resources to meet their needs by distributing wealth more equally amongst their citizens. First, governments can ensure that rural communities are not forced to look for resources in areas where the animal populations would be significantly affected. Second, with illegal hunting, much of this is done out of economic necessity rather than for sport. By addressing the needs of their communities more broadly governments can reduce the necessity for humans to use animals as a resource. To conclude, animals are crucial to our ecosystem, which makes important their protection. I believe that governments measures against this issue would be a better distribution of welfare, consequently, easing the need to use resources that affect our planet.