Some people say that public libraries are an important public resource and should be free. Others say that they are just a waste of public money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the proliferation of public libraries has become a trend in many countries. It is often argued that public libraries should be chargeless due to their critical impact on society's learning journey, whilst others think that government spending on public libraries is futile. This essay argues that public libraries should be free and accessible for everyone due to several positive impacts. It should be highlighted that the citizens' literacy skills have become one of the most important criteria in the nation's development. Therefore, public libraries should be accessible to everyone regardless of income level. Thus, people can enhance their knowledge and get a better job to improve their economic life. In addition, the budget allocation on public libraries should be prioritized as the first step to developing reading habits in society, specifically among the young generation, which is critical for enhancing their critical thinking. For instance, the majority of developed countries have a regulation to create free public libraries for their citizens. Consequently, their children's PISA rates, which focus on numerical reasoning and logical thinking, are much higher than those in developing countries. However, many people disagree with this policy for several reasons. First, the government fund allocation should focus on tackling urgent problems, such as poverty, rather than building many public libraries. In addition, they argued that public libraries do not have a significant impact on the community's welfare. For instance, public libraries do not heal people from the disease nor help those less fortunate to pay their bills. There is no obvious and immediate effects in building public libraries for solving critical problems. In conclusion, public libraries have a significant impact in the long term, specifically to equip our future generation with many resources which can help them to leverage their knowledge and abilities. Despite other government's priorities, the development of chargeless public libraries still plays an important role as the initial step to creating a better society in the near future.