Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that teaching a foreign language to children in primary school is more beneficial than at secondary school. Although there are drawbacks to learning a foreign language at an early age, I believe the advantages are far more. There are many reasons why learning a foreign language at primary school is better than secondary school. Firstly, young minds are more receptive, and they can easily retain knowledge during these years. Moreover, just like students, they can also pick up their mother tongue easily and do not face any difficulty in learning another language if they start learning a foreign tongue at an early age. Furthermore, primary school students are not afraid of making mistakes and they improve their mistakes quickly, whereas senior students are always having a fear of making mistakes, while they are speaking in a new language. This fear sometimes becomes the biggest barrier, which prevents them from learning another language. Apart from this, in the early ages of studies, students have less burden of studies. Children can spend more time learning languages. Despite these benefits, this situation has some negative effects. The main argument is the burden on children in their early stage of life, which can become a hurdle in their learning of their first language. They cannot gain a thorough understanding of their own tongue, becoming a barrier to their development. Last, but not least, it is also a waste of time when primary school goers are primarily focusing on learning a second language in spite of learning science and maths. In conclusion, although there are a few drawbacks to learning another language at primary school rather than secondary school, I believe it is better to start learning at primary school.