Nowadays a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Lately, a traditional medication is a choice for many people rather than going to the hospital and having a consultation with a doctor. However, it could be a negative development for two reasons: First, traditional treatment usually takes a long time to recover. Second, many health problems, such as heart disease or cancer, need to be handled by professionals. Alternative medicines usually will be taking time like in months or even years to help the patient fully recover. The reason is that most alternative treatments use natural resources as the cure. Based on research about GERD patients from the NUS Medicine Research Centre, ginger and turmeric are good natural drinks to reduce the symptoms. But, they need to be consumed every single day for around three to four weeks, while generic drugs only need to take about one or two pills to help the patient heal. Moreover, alternative medicine cannot handle some health issues and needs severe and professional action. Based on the data from the World Health Organization, the number of cancer and heart disease patients has increased by about 8% since 2016, and 34% of the sufferers choose to take alternative treatments instead of chemotherapy and surgery. Research from Universitas Airlangga (UNAIR) shows that alternative medicine become the popular cause of offering “less-painful” therapy. Prof. Sebastian from UNAIR said traditional treatment using natural sources cannot fully recover the health issues; instead, it can only hold the symptoms for a while. Therefore, going to the doctor is still the best option. To conclude, choosing alternative medicines is a negative development due to a lot of time to recover by using natural ones, and also traditional treatment cannot fully heal some diseases.