The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undoubtful that thanks to the Internet's rapid development, online interaction is taking the place of contact in person in this modern society. The main benefits of this phenomenon are the increase in interaction frequency and diversity, while the key drawbacks are harm to relationship bonds and not friendly for certain people who cannot use social media. On one hand, this form of communication leads to various consequences. To be specific, relying on contact with each other online lessens the rates of meeting with each other personally, which means it may have a negative impact on relationship bonds between friends and families. For example, people prefer to have dinner together on a regular basis as a way to show care for others, especially on anniversaries and festivals. Moreover, it is not friendly for those people who are not familiar with utilizing smart gadgets and the Internet, due to the gap, learning how to interact with friends and family members could occupy a large amount of time as they have to learn the methods first. Consequently, they may be unwilling to interact with others. On the other hand, this may be beneficial for people's interaction diversity. This is because using social media enriches people's choices of communication methods, for example, video chatting, voice chatting and text messages are the mainstream choices among people in China, as well as emoji, play an irreplaceable role in older people's lives especially those who live far away with their children. In addition, the frequency of communication will become higher, which means people can chat with others at any time and any place worldwide without geographic limitation. What is more, for those who suffer from social phobia, this brings more possibilities for them in terms of communication without face-to-face pressure. Hence, they could stay in their comfort zones such as at home to connect with the whole world without relationship pressure. In conclusion, as with anything in life, relying on contact on social media has its pros and cons. Although it would have negative effects on relationship bonds and those who are not familiar with smart devices, I strongly believe that social media enriches people's interaction and brings benefits to those who are living far away or have disorders.