In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. Why? Is it a positive or negative phenomenon?

In today's society, many couples have made conscious decisions to delay childbirth until later in their lives. This trend is attributable to a main culprit emerging amongst younger generations by which they have a desire to ascend the career ladder. From my perspective, it is a totally negative approach owing to its harmful effects on mothers and their children alike. It becomes evident that nowadays a large number of individuals, particularly youngsters tend to place a higher value on their career advancement over their family lives. In other words, raising a child in early marriage entails a multitude of responsibilities and consumes a huge amount of time. Therefore, it could also impede them from ascending higher in their path. Also, a wide range of expenses parents need to cover at present has become increasingly exorbitant including Medicare before, during and after birth, as well as the plethora of time required for the birth procedure. As a result, a numerous number of couples have to work constantly under high pressure to be financially and emotionally ready. The benefits of career advancement this trend offers may be reasonable to some extent, but people should take into consideration the bad effects it has on both mothers and their kids. Individuals who wish to delay childbirth are more likely to face the risk of medical complications. In other words, there are many scientific researches proving that working under high pressure for a long period of time and experiencing stress from daily life impedes women from conceiving or even results in infertility. Furthermore, delaying childbirth also increases the likelihood of the baby being born with severe medical conditions such as Down syndrome. This trend poses threats to mothers and children alike, which could adversely affect their lives and these consequences may not be easily remedied. In conclusion, the decision to delay childbirth can be attributed to career development. However, this trend could result in several negative impacts on both parents and children.