At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, people of working age have been accounting for the vast majority of the demography within several nations, in comparison with the elderly. This trend brings both merits and demerits, but from my perspective, its negative effects prevail over the positive ones. On the one hand, it is a prevailing opinion that the number of youngsters is higher than that of older people, which has some advantages. Firstly, most of the former are of working age and if they are educated and nurtured in a proper way, they may be good human resources to prompt the country to be more developed. Especially, in Vietnam which has a young population, the government always takes education into consideration, and simultaneously, organizes many vocational training courses in order to increase the labour force. Moreover, in terms of technology, youngsters catch up with it more easily which makes them become more crucial in the technological innovation of the countries. On the other hand, I think the adverse impacts of the increase of the young shadow over the beneficial ones. First of all, unless there is enough investment in nurturing the young, it can result in many social issues such as theft, drug trafficking, smuggling, and so on. This is a typical circumstance in Africa where the crime rate is the highest in the world. Besides, many youngsters still depend on their parents who go to work and if they are adolescents, the authorities have to pay an allowance for them, which puts pressure on national finance. However, if they are not, the government needs to provide them with employment opportunities. In conclusion, having a young population benefits society because of a highly qualified workforce who adapt straightforwardly to the changes, but I believe that without adequate education, it will bring more shortcomings than benefits for humans.