In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, there is a belief that has been put in the mind of children which hard effort means a one hundred per cent chance of accomplishment. Although there are several benefits to this notion, the drawbacks are by no means negligible. On the plus side, there are many advantages to this opinion. Firstly, children are very adaptable during adolescence, so promoting to task hard, makes them a better person for their future. As Pele said, “Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do”. Secondly, children are at the learning and nurturing point and parents have to do their best to help them develop more. Finally, the goal of living for everybody is to succeed and gain more and it will not be achieved without hard endeavor. On the other hand, the disadvantages have a crucial role in their development and future. offspring have to devote a big part of their childhood to playing with their friends and this idea puts remarkable pressure on their minds. They have to bring out their hidden creativity and this could be very restrictive and prevent them from enhancing. For instance, one of my friends in primary school went to several post-school classes and his parents forced him to participate in them. However, those classes were a big barrier and he was always an average student in the primary school. Furthermore, this belief makes a big mistake in the children’s minds, and if they couldn’t achieve any win in their lives, the complications would be irreparable. In conclusion, while encouraging offspring to be hard-working is very beneficial, we have to always consider the impacts of lack of success in their future.