Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that investments in railways should be valued over spending money on roads by governments. I strongly agree with this opinion, and the reasons will be outlined. It is my view that dedicating a sizeable amount of money to railways and their infrastructure can resolve several serious problems that big cities suffer from. For instance, if governments invest in public transportation infrastructure, the traffic problems, especially during rush hours, can be resolved. Furthermore, by providing people with reliable and frequent public transportation, governments not only enhance air quality but also decelerate global warming. From an economic point of view, both people and governments can benefit from the railway system because fares for trains are more economical, and it can be a valuable source of revenue for governments. In contrast, a group of individuals claims that investing in roads should be taken into consideration due to the fact that most people are willing to use their own cars for commuting. They firmly insist that using private cars is more convenient, which can lead to a higher standard of living. Accordingly, they prefer to see that roads are prioritized. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as people should be encouraged to use sustainable means of transport such as subways and trains. Most private automobiles use fossil fuels that produce exhaust gases, leading to environmental problems such as the extinction of endangered species. In conclusion, I totally agree with dedicating resources to invest in railways, because, whether from an environmental viewpoint or an economic perspective, such investments can offer numerous benefits.