Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The modern world dictates a new reality, such as reducing the amount of time that people spend with each other. The effect might be different - there are some negative aspects and several advantages. On the one hand, people live in society, and it’s important to know how to communicate with Homo sapiens. However, the decrease in the time that people spend in real life reflects on their communication skills. Nowadays, teenagers demonstrate difficulties with socializing. Basic social skills have deteriorated during the last twenty years. This is the reason why kids don’t meet each other in actual life anymore. In contrast, they prefer to message and connect on social networks. As a result, young people may feel isolated in physical reality and absolutely “connected” online, which can negatively impact their emotional health. On the other hand, messaging gives us a lot of privileges. For example, it is not necessary to move to another country to meet your friends or family if you live in different countries. Also, a large amount of work communication occurs via email. Because of messaging and social networks, work processes have become more comfortable and easier. These days, people have the opportunity to work online or outsource, which provides a lot of flexibility and new opportunities. Moreover, the ability to instantly share ideas or documents with colleagues across the globe significantly boosts productivity and innovation. In conclusion, it is clear that emailing and other messaging methods have benefits and negative consequences. People will always try to make their lives easier, but the primary question is how to use modern technologies to keep a balance between human nature and modern technologies. Only by maintaining this balance society can enjoy the full potential of technological progress without losing essential human values.