The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

There is little doubt that the popularity of expressing desperations and grudges online is rising in society. This essay will elaborate on the worsening of interpersonal relationships between characters as a possible ramification of this trend, while at the same time, it can be beneficial if the criticisms are aimed at entrepreneurs. To commence with, the consequences of venting frustrations and complaints on social media platforms are destroying people's connections and catalyzing potential conflicts with each other. This is because people tend to implicitly share their inconveniences with everyone on the internet instead of having a personal conversation with the person they have problems with. Recently, a widespread drama on TikTok about two former best friends is a hotly debated topic, one friend believed her ex-roommate crossed boundaries by trying to seduce her boyfriend, while the other friend contended that she did not. Instead of solving it privately, these girls shared the story online which created misunderstandings and conflicts. On the other hand, expressing complaints on digital platforms can be beneficial for business owners. This is because the service provider can advance the weaknesses according to the customers' honest perspectives. For instance, a restaurant improves its cleanliness after a well-known food vlogger reviews the place on YouTube, enhancing customer experience and the overall betterment of the business. Therefore, professional complaints shared by netizens can be an objective tool to evaluate the quality of an entity, particularly in the context of commercial businesses. To sum up, the hype of digital platforms has made it more accessible for proponents to share their frustrations and bad comments publicly. This can trigger horizontal conflicts due to a lower quality of private communication between involved individuals. However, this can act as valuable input for a businessperson to improve their practices by reflecting on customers' critiques.