Young people today are better qualified than they were in the past. Some people argue that this is because competition for jobs is greater than it used to. Others say that people only continue their education because the opportunity exist for them to do so. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Higher education has expanded rapidly in recent years, and this is not likely to change in the near future. If employers continue to demand highly qualified graduates, more and more young people will choose higher education courses. Therefore, the increasing number of higher education courses is a result of higher demand from students and employers. In modern companies and businesses, technical expertise is one of the most important factors in choosing employees. If employees do not have suitable qualifications, they will not be able to produce goods and services of sufficient quality to satisfy the market. Therefore, it is extremely important that all employees are well-qualified, and have studied the technical demands of the business in depth. For example, the production of food requires a high level of safety, and this means that everyone involved in this process has to understand it in detail. Furthermore, the number of students in future education depends upon the demand from young people. If they are not interested in studying a particular subject at university, they will not apply. For example, the number of students studying business studies is very high and this is mainly due to the demand by employers for graduates. On the other hand, if courses were not provided by universities, it would not be possible for students to apply for them. Therefore, universities have adjusted to consumer demand, and created the courses that students want to study in order to attract more business and increase their own profits. The expansion of the number of students in higher education depends upon a number of factors, but the most important of these is the ability of graduates to find employment. Consequently, the number of places available, and employer demand, play an equally important role.