Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Living in a century that is influenced materialistically, we are inundated with an array of advertisements. In my opinion, the excess practice of it, whether on TV, internet or print media, could be menacing as it invigorates people to spend more without thinking cautiously. Hence, there should be some protective measures to avert over-spending. In the following essays, I shall discuss this in detail. To begin with, compelling advertising, showcasing attractive products and services, forces people to spend even when it is not necessary. In the present scenario, companies with massive budgets have adopted varying methods to advertise their offering, ranging from TV commercials to flyers in newspaper that it is becoming strenuous for people to escape from these activities. For instance, if you are watching a cricket match, it is very likely that you will come across logos or advertisements of sponsors. Similarly, if you are watching a web series or a movie, you will find a promotional product. At the very least, even if you are just scrolling through social media in your free time, you will find hoards of advertisements or influencers promoting products. This volume of advertising simply means that we, as consumers, are profoundly cajoled into purchasing such products without giving them enough thought. As far as the regulation is concerned, it is not a piece of cake to decide how the advertisements can be regulated. Evidently, governments have to restrict advertisements for such products that could pose health threats or are harmful, such as tobacco, alcohol, and more. Considering that the government doesn’t have significant control over other advertising forms, consumers will have to use their common sense. This includes brainstorming over the need of a product than giving up in front of the desires or wants. Waiting for 24-hours before buying a product can help as well. This means not scrolling through products on the internet mindlessly or not giving in to the temptation of buying the latest smartphone. In the end, it could be concluded that while it is difficult to escape entirely from advertisements and their effects, people should control their urges to purchase anything unnecessarily.