In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, which means that humans prioritize their personal goals and desires over collective interests, and this has both positive and negative development. On the one hand, one of the negative effects that prioritizing personal goals and desires over collective interests can have is the absence of teamwork. Needless to say, that teamwork involves individuals working together, consequently, if the vast majority of human beings prioritize their personal goals and dreams over collective interests they will not be able to work together. For instance, 2 years ago I had an assignment and I had to do that with my classmates, almost all of them used to prioritize their personal desires, hence, we could not work together and we failed. On the other hand, prioritizing personal goals and desires does not only have disadvantages, it has several benefits. It is common knowledge that decades ago millions of people who used to live in USSR did not have an opportunity to have a freedom. They were unable to do what they desired, however, now fortunately all people have that right. All people are free to do what we want and we can prioritize our goals and desires. Prioritizing personal goals and desires provides people a freedom. In conclusion, nowadays, there is a growing emphasis on individualism which means many people prioritize their personal goals and desires over collective interests, prioritizing personal goals and desires over collective interests has both positive and negative development.