The only way to improve road safety is to give stricter punishments to driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety and its influences have long been a topic of numerous debates, especially in recent years. I totally agree that the punishments will stimulate decrease of the road accidents, because the people will not want to face with the financial hardships of punishments and public awareness of the society will burgeon about strict penalties. One major advantage of financial penalties would be demotivation of the offenders to do harmful actions in the road. Considering the fact that in the modern and capitalistic society people would not want to pay high fines due to their one trivial misbehave. As a result, drivers will step off from violation of the law and endangerment of a road as well. Another significant advantage is the acceptence of the city dwellers to the punishments. According to the some public policy theories as the number and amount of punishments get higher and higher, the public get used to these changes and acknowledge the fact that they have to obey the law. Consequently, they will be less traffic congestion and accidents. In conclusion, while others supporting the opposite view, I believe that the imposing strict penalties will rise the public awareness and financially demotivate from acting road crime acts.