Nation should spend more money on vocational training rather than on university education. Would the advantages of these outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that a country should invest more in technical training, instead of an institutional degree. While vocational teaching has a lot of benefits, such as focused learning and time saving, I believe there are detrimental effects of career-oriented education as well. Nowadays, there is an increasing trend among youth to learn a specific art and pursue their career in it. Additionally, this approach of learning has a positive impact on society and has a lot of advantages. First and foremost, the benefit is time saving. Rather than spending four years doing a graduation, you can learn a particular skill within a couple of months and enter the work environment more quickly. For instance, one of my friends learned web development within 6 months and entered practical life 2 years earlier than his college-mates. Secondly, the other premium assistance that such type of teaching brings, is skill-based training. Furthermore, you can master one subject, unlike a polytechnic degree, where you have to learn a variety of subjects. As the saying goes, besides the positive points of having a technical speciality, there are some negative points as well. The most important, is the lack of exposure during technical studies. In addition, during university studies, one precious things you get from the learning is exposure and how to deal with different individuals. For example, when I started college, I didn’t know how to initiate a conversation with anyone, and by the end of university time, I knew exactly how to communicate with different types of people. In light of the above facts, I believe that the advantages of having career-based studies over university-centred studies clearly outweigh the detrimental consequences of this approach. Consequently, the government should spend more on job training.