Some people think that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school while others believe childrens should not start until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some contend that learning a new language at primary school is expedient, others argue that youngsters should only start learning a foreign language during or after secondary school. It is my firm belief that learning a new language is easier when kids are young; however, they should not be overwhelmed at that stage of development. To begin with, the development of one or more foreign language skills is gaining attention among today's youth. Parents guide their children to learn a new language as an advantage in the future while they are still studying at primary schools. Cognitive abilities are sharper when children are young, and many parents aim to utilize this advantage by encouraging their children to learn at least one additional language. I also believe that children should be taught as many languages as possible to establish solid foundations for future use when a necessity arises. As a vivid example of teaching children multiple languages during primary school, in Azerbaijan, the majority of students can speak two languages fluently as they have been taught these languages at school. On the other hand, some think that there is no need for children to learn a new language until they are in secondary school. They insist on postponing this developmental activity to a later date, believing that there is more to self- development at that stage of life. Moreover, other soft skills such as critical thinking, communication, and leadership are equally important to learn and adapt to fit into society. Additionally, children forced to learn multiple languages simultaneously may experience a disorder in their speaking ability due to the impact of receiving too much information at such a young age. In conclusion, although a group of believers stands by their position of postponing the development of a foreign language by children until the commencement of secondary school, I find the opposite idea a better fit for better child development, as children are voraciously knowledge-hungry in primary schools, more so than they will be in secondary schools.