Government investments in the arts such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that investing money in different branches of art can be considered a money waste because this money should be spent on more important matters like public services. However, I totally disagree with this statement due to the positive effects of arts both on people's mental health and their social behaviour. I will shed light on my reasons in the following paragraphs. Initially, arts can enhance the mental health of humans by helping them to get far from all the stresses and strains of their daily lives. Urban lifestyle has imposed a great deal of pressure on citizens because of working tensions and being stuck in heavy traffic jams on a daily basis. These stresses have been shown to cause mental diseases like depression when continue for a long period of time. An artistic work like a fine piece of music can act as a distractor for people ’s minds which can reverse the negative effects of the above-mentioned stressful situations. So, any investment in music as a means of retreatment for the people cannot be considered a waste of money. Secondly, the general attitude and behaviour of every single person in a particular country can be directly affected by its art and culture. Take poetry as an example of art, there are several poets who have dedicated their whole life to encouraging people to follow the basic moral principles. When people learn to adopt a better attitude, they will also cause less damage to public services in order to avoid violating other’s right to use them as well. As a result, not only investments in arts are not wasting money but they can actually help the resources to be preserved. In conclusion, despite some opposition to spending money on arts, I believe beneficial aspects of artistic works such as improving public health and the cultural background of a society can be good enough reasons for governments to allocate a significant proportion of their income to leverage the improvement of art.