Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that not all old buildings have the same value, and some of them are not worth preserving. Personally, I completely agree with this opinion. One of the reasons why I believe so is that some old buildings have a higher value from a historical point of view. It would be a crime to demolish a palace or an old museum with a lot of history and to lose all its past without preserving it. Demolishing an old condominium, however, would not be a big historical loss, unless some crucial historical events happened there. Therefore, in comparison to a palace, an old apartment house with no history definitely loses and is not worth preserving and spending money on it. This leads to the next reason: preserving an old building requires spendings for restoration and taking care of construction. Therefore, it would be impossible to preserve all old buildings, as the state and private companies’ budget is not endless and they need to choose a construction to spend their money on. Thus, humanity has to decide which buildings are worth preserving more from the financial point of view. To clarify, some buildings can be turned into museums and may bring some profit by selling tickets for exhibitions, while others may be not that interesting for an ordinary person and hence, less profitable. Taking everything into consideration, I completely agree with the statement that certain old buildings are more worth taking care of, as some of them are more historically and financially valuable and can be profitable in the long term.