Art should be a compulsory class for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that students need to learn art as a compulsory high school subject to reduce their stress while others believe that it is not practical and will not be used in their adult lives. I partially agree with this topic. This essay will talk about both sides and their positions on this argument. Learning art as a compulsory subject in a high school might be inefficient as it will not likely be used after student graduations. When they get into a university, they only need to enrol and be required to study subjects related to their major. Students who major in courses such as business and psychology will not face any situations where they can utilise theories of art they learned in high school for their university assignments or exams. Also, like math where students can utilise knowledge such as when exchanging and counting money, art will not be as helpful and effective in the real-world. Therefore, learning art will not be practical. On the other hand, it will give students some time to rest and reduce their stress from studying. Students normally spend 7-8 hours in a high school studying complex subjects that give them headaches such as biology, math, and science. Requiring students to necessarily take art might mean that they will have time in their study life to draw and paint anything they want without thinking about the difficult formulas and theories they learned from those complex subjects. Thus, during a time when students have art class, they might feel comfortable, peaceful, which can reduce their stress. It will be argued on one side that making art a compulsory high- school subject is useless as it will not be utilised in the real-world setting later in students life. However, art can play a crucial role in enabling students to have time to relieve some stressed from the load of studying and feel more comfortable. Thus, I more of the side on agreeing that art class should be provided to all high school students as a compulsory.