Some people believe that it is good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valued to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It goes without saying that information and data are now dominating every aspect of life in this twenty-first century. While making decisions and predicting some future variables, data availability is very crucial. Informed decisions and visionary steps can be taken only when we have a sufficient amount of data in our hands. This can happen only when researchers, academicians and businessmen are more lenient in sharing their established facts or insights and permit open access to them. Although there might be some confidentiality issues while sharing data, I believe that this can never outweigh the importance of information spreading. My opinion is surrounded by several arguments which I am going to share in the following parts. To begin with, information sharing will provide fellow researchers, business analysts and academicians access to previous findings and established facts. The more relevant information is shared, the more it will contribute to prediction accuracy or analysis. Let’s take, for instance: a researcher who is trying to develop a relationship between pedestrian safety and different socio-economic factors. While incorporating socio-economic factors, he might include age, income, sex and so on. He may collect this data through direct field surveys or from previous studies and reports. If the previous researcher in this field doesn’t share enough information, there might not be sufficient data for the current research. Moreover, it is always better to have some redundant data so that any model can trained properly. On the downside, it is not always possible to share all types of data. Publishing industries make money by selling published reports, information and findings. If data and information are given open access, those industries will face hardship. Sometimes, additional data can create a mess and sometimes it can not be shared due to political and national security reasons. To conclude, information sharing leniently and providing open access may be sometimes detrimental to some parties and confidentiality but this can never outweigh the greatest concern of advancements of future scientific research, enhancements of business strategies and enrichments of academia.