The gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider; the rich are becoming richer and the poor are even getting poorer. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap?

There is little doubt that the disparity between the wealthy community and those who live under the poverty line is widening. This essay will elaborate on the danger of social conflicts caused by this situation and how wealth redistribution can serve as a solution for this matter. To begin with, the disparity between the rich and the poor will lead to social inequality which often triggers conflicts between society members, particularly initiated by the lower class. This is because poorer folks become angry when they acknowledge certain people live in abundance while they face the hardships of living with huge economic constraints on a regular basis. For example, the inequality between the monarchs and the people of France prior to the revolution drove rebellion and the execution of Marie Antoinette of whom ignorance is often depicted by her quote, "Let them eat cake" when she was told that people have no more bread to eat. Thus, economic disparity is a dangerous threat to national stability. On the other hand, the government has the biggest responsibility to diminish the inequality between members of society through an effective wealth redistribution strategy. As a regulator of its citizens, official institutions have the authority to intervene in the number of resources owned by the rich through many instruments and to decide what to do with the money. For instance, Indonesia's authorities adopted a policy regulating the taxation of fancy material possessions such as expensive cars, and created many development programs for less fortunate families, from free groceries to scholarships. Therefore, creating the right roadmap through governmental policies and programs is an effective way to shrink the social distance between the rich and the poor. To conclude, the stretched gap between groups of economic classes is an undeniable problem in many countries because it can catalyse conflicts or even riots in extreme cases. However, authorised institutions can make an effective strategy through proper policy regarding the redistribution of wealth.