Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not fuction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

When it comes to living in society, some would argue that the existence of rules and laws is pivotal otherwise people would do whatever they wish for. In my opinion, however, it would be possible to live in a society which does not have any laws as we do have ethics and moral already in us. First and foremost, laws and rules take place so that we ensure no one crosses any lines that are considered "wrong". Despite that, laws are made by people who already believe in what is right or wrong based on the philosophical concepts of moral and ethics. Therefore, there is not necessary to have them once we already have these values within us. Moreover, having laws is also a way to punish people, as Foucault has already said, and this does not necessarily mean a good thing. We would better have more education and enforcing of our moral standards rather than a punitive system. For example, there are many schools that do not work with a principal or stated Change the form of the verb state show examples laws. In fact, students come to decide what is right or wrong and have their own council to organize their little society. Indeed, these schools count on great philosophy and sociology lessons that ensure their students are enlightened with our standards of moral and ethics. To conclude, although laws and rules might help to regulate a society I do not believe in them as they are purely punitive and come from a mindset that citizens are aware of - ethics and moral - and could, by themselves, practise and live peacefully.