Some people believe that a single language should be adopted globally to facilitate international communication and understanding. Others say that this would lead to a loss of culture and identity. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion. You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

It has long been recognized that when people who speak different languages meet there can be misunderstandings. Clearly, a common language helps to make communication and understanding easier. However, many people believe that if a common language were used, this might lead to a loss of cultural identity, since language and culture are strongly connected.   I think that the first point of view is becoming outdated, in the sense that English is being adopted as a common international language. However, there is no reason why this should mean that other languages are not used. If people who speak different languages decide to use a common language other than English, that is their choice. The most important thing is that they agree on which language to use. Having said that, English is the most likely common language to be adopted since it is the native tongue of so many people and, more importantly, it is being learnt as a second language in almost every country.   I am not convinced by those who argue that the use of a common language, such as English, leads to a loss of culture and identity. Cultures are not things that remain constant over the years. They change. I do not see French culture disappearing as young French people use certain English words in their everyday lives. I do not see Chinese culture collapsing as an increasing number of Chinese people learn English.   In conclusion, the use of a single common language has advantages, but I do not think that it is necessary to impose one on everyone. I disagree with those who claim it leads to a loss of culture and identity. People have shown for centuries that they can use a common language other than their own without losing their cultural identity.