In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Many people prefer to purchase a house or an apartment instead of spending money on housing rentals. I believe that this is a positive trend and I will provide reasons why it is crucial for some people to buy one. There are several reasons for many wanting to buy a and live in their own home. One of the reasons is that because of the inflation and housing crisis, the rent has increased significantly. This sometimes becomes unaffordable for common people to continue to pay the rent. In addition, it seems to be unfair to them to pay a huge amount of rent to cover someone else’s mortgage. In contrast, people can buy their home and use the rent money to pay off their own mortgage, resulting in owning an asset that can be passed on to their children. I believe that this is a positive trend. Firstly, the amount of money paid fortnightly is most likely affordable than the rent paid by tenants these days. The only catch here is to buy a house that is not overly expensive. Secondly, their income is utilised in owning their own asset rather than giving it to someone else, consequently, their economic circumstances can be uplifted. Finally, it is a sense of achievement for some people to own a house and pass this asset to their children leading to their sense of satisfaction in their retired life. Therefore, the country may have happy and prosperous citizens. In conclusion, I believe that buying a home has its positive aspects to be considered, which is why in many nations, it is vital for many people to purchase their own home.