Many people these days rely on traditional medicines rather than going to doctors. What are the causes? Is this a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people trust alternative medicine instead of conventional medicine. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to deterioration in health and wasteful spending. One of the main problems that traditional medicine might cause is unknown side effects. Because many alternative medicines have not been tested scientifically, which means they may produce negative effects and worsen the condition of the patient, such as asthma, nausea, headaches, allergic reactions and rashes. If a sick person continues having natural treatment instead of going to a hospital, the illness could get worse without treatment from a doctor. As a result, in the end, these people will spend more of their time and money to get better or might even die because they were not treated on time. Another issue is that traditional medicine may have no beneficial effect at all, due to it cannot be proven. In other words, people can spend a lot of money on treatment and not have a result. Furthermore, many traditional practitioners work without a license and there is a high possibility that they are charlatans. The reason for this is that the practitioners have not graduated from medical school, passed any exams, or been certified by a board. So it can be dangerous to have a treatment from them. Even if their method works, it takes a long time to see changes in health. In conclusion, even though traditional medicine has become more popular nowadays, it has a lot of drawbacks to be considered as a positive development.