In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many nations around the world, individuals are moving from rural regions to live in cities and the population in the countryside is declining. I think this is a negative development because it makes cities overcrowded and moving to cities can lead to a negative effect on the climate. Moving to live in urban places away from rural life makes cities more crowded and decreases the space in cities. It is because when a large population want to live in cities, they build houses and construct roads to make the city bigger which leads to a decrease in the big spaces and deforestation. For example, a study in China shows that there is a link between deforestation and the increased population in cities. The populations who move to cities contribute to the changes in climate. This is because, building houses for them leads to burning fossil fuels and the increased usage of cars that release gasses from their engines causes greenhouse effects that trap gases and harm the atmosphere which causes climate change. For instance, the US government in recent years began to ask its citizens who live in cities to use public transport to reduce gas emissions from cars that cause air pollution and lead to global warming. In conclusion, the movement of populations to live in urban cities leads to the reduction of space and overpopulation and contributes to the changes in climate. Therefore, I believe that it is a negative thing to have a huge number of individuals leaving the countryside.