The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The most effective method to teach a child cooperation is through sports in their learning institution. I strongly agree with this idea because they are opportune to work with different personalities to achieve a specific goal, as well as learn conflict resolution skills. To begin with, they are actively working to accomplish a task. In games like football along with basketball, each team is composed of more than four players, they each have separate opinions, personalities, and skills while wanting to play the game how each of them best fit. However, when this happens the outcome is often disastrous, for this reason, there has to be a plan, and all teammates stick to following it during the game, only then will they be able to succeed. For instance, when a team of footballers was asked how they had been able to win a majority of their games, they all mentioned the same thing, teamwork! Hence, portraying the importance of sports in fostering cooperation. Furthermore, sports play a role in advocating for conflict resolution. With everyone having different ideas together, they are bound to arguments. Nevertheless, these types of situations are able to teach them skills on how to handle misunderstandings effectively. To illustrate, at a younger age, I was part of a sports team where the coach tutored us on how to handle disagreements. Moreover, when an issue arose, we were able to practicalize this which led to quick resolution of any quarrel. This supports the notion that sports is an effective method of teaching children cooperation. To sum it up, this essay has discussed the importance of physical education in teaching children how to cooperate through working together with different people to reach one goal and learning how to resolve conflict.