In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Governments regulate multiple activities for a society to function in harmony. Some individuals contend that the practice of a select few earning significantly larger paychecks is beneficial for the nation. However, critics against this argue that salaries should be regulated by the government and strict laws should be enforced to restrict the money an individual can make. This essay will highlight both perspectives and argue why, in my opinion, governments should not interfere by controlling incomes. I believe this deters people from working hard. To begin with, authorities restraining high salaries results in equal distribution of wealth among all citizens. This promotes peace among societies, as most people earn enough income to purchase the goods required for survival, resulting in a significant drop in crimes. For instance, in communist states like North Korea, all people are paid equally despite their educational qualifications. As a result, the proportion of people who commit crimes here is merely 1%. This seems to demonstrate that similar compensation in a society can effectively mitigate high crime rates. However, such stringent regulation can impede people who put in large amounts of effort into their careers. If these people are not adequately compensated, they will lose their motivation to aim high. Consequently, jobs that require advanced training courses as well as hectic working hours will not be filled, due to unfair compensation. To illustrate, medical professionals often work more than 100 hours per week. If they are provided with the same salary as a teacher, who works half days and enjoys three months of summer vacation, they will quit their jobs. This will be detrimental to the country’s healthcare infrastructure. Thus, I firmly contend that such laws are more disadvantageous for a nation.  In conclusion, I reiterate that distributing the money equitably among all people, irrespective of the job qualifications required and working conditions is wrong. People should be allowed to earn high incomes based on their education and how much effort they are willing to put into their careers.