Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For the past couple of years, thanks to advances in technology, the students ’ cultivation of knowledge has become far more convenient. Some people eventually believe that young learners can gain knowledge online at home without going to school. In my opinion, although students can take numerous advantage of the Internet, schools are still indispensable. Traditional learning presents several outstanding benefits such as enhancing social interaction and orienting future careers which are never be superseded by online learning. First, while it is true that knowledge can be accumulated at school or through the Internet, practical skills are believed to be better developed at school where students can have a strong social connection with others. Due to interacting processes both in verbal and non-verbal ways, children can improve their communication skills, interpersonal skills, or problem-solving skills, … which are essential to their later future. Furthermore, it is necessary for youngsters to be involved in career orientation while they are still young so that they will not lose their direction during study time. In this case, the schooling method outweighs online training because it should be face-to-face conducted by professors or lecturers at school. On the other hand, self-studying online at home has a lot of drawbacks that may result in bad learning performance for students. First and foremost, online learning requires intensive self-discipline and self-direction which can be tough for children while they are still young. Children are computer literate but easy to lose their concentration while studying as well without the control of parents. In addition, the lack of directions and guidance from the teacher also gets them into trouble time at home when they are not able to plan their own study syllabus. Another negative aspect of online learning is children can become over-reliant on computers and the internet while learning is the process of cultivating knowledge from different sources. This may lead to the misunderstanding of the definition of studying as just collecting information and not putting it into a practical world. In conclusion, while students can boost their studies by using the Internet, schools still play a detrimental role in our society.