Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in-exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that people are sharing their personal information online in order to gain access to programs that are developed by technological companies. In my opinion, I believe that it has many demerits because of the prevailing trend in cyberbullying and the spread of misinformation in our digital age. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages as well as my viewpoint in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, getting regular updates and notifications about software renewals is one of the primary merits of sharing our personal data to gain access. That is to say that when folks provide their email address while registering for any online program, it is easy for those companies to send info about the software updates which in turn helps them to keep themselves informed 24 by 7 with technological enhancements. Furthermore, some apps need frequent renewals to use it without breaking a day, for instance, the Adobe application requires users to recharge their subscriptions every three months, so without having user's data, enterprises cannot notify them which could cause interruption during critical times. On the other hand, in this digital era hacking and sharing our data with hackers has become more prevalent. In other words, there are many possibilities that our name or email address could be hacked by cyberthieves and represent us in various platforms to steal all our details. For example, a recent study found that customer databases are the primary focus of cyberbullying to send phishing and spam emails to access banking details. Moreover, the best of the best enterprises could not stop the spread of misinformation of their customers to such potential online threats. In conclusion, I would say that it has been a common practice of providing our info to access software programs which has both merits and demerits. Although it has advantages, I prefer the disadvantages such as cyberthreats and the spread of data concerning the overall safety and security.In my opinion, the drawbacks outweigh the positives.