Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

These days, local inhabitants visit fewer museums and historical sites in their region than foreign visitors. This is because citizens have a low interest in local history and advertising their native history, could get them to visit more regional cultural places. A commonly held belief is that residents are usually very little or not interested at all in the local backstory of their living places. Most people, when they grow up in certain places, do not pay attention to surrounding things, such as buildings or landmarks. This is happening because everything has become usual and familiar to them. For example, many Paris citizens have never been to the Eiffel Tower or the Louvre. Promotion of local history should to increase the popularity of cultural places and exhibitions halls. If the authorities emphasize the popularization of native history, it could help locals better recognize their identity. Moreover, their understanding of background of their ancestors, who founded the place where they live, will make them proud. And as a result it could attract them to visit historical sites more. For instance, we can see a significant rise in the interest of landmarks and museums in the Kazakhstan by natives in the last years. This is because of statement policy who start to focuse on local history. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would argue that popularization of native history should be essential part of our life and consequently it will attract more local people to historical sites and museums.