Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that reducing the speed limit of vehicles on the roads is the best way to prevent accidents in cities, while others say that there are other significant issues which need to be prioritized. while setting the speed limit contributes to safety on the road, I believe that the government should address the immediate needs of the community such as healthcare and free education. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, there are many benefits of setting a minimum speed limit on the city roads. That is to say that overspeeding is one of the major causes of road accidents because drivers are unable to control their vehicles while speeding which poses a serious threat to the public. In addition, when they drive very fast, they lose their focus on the road and fail to watch for pedestrians which has resulted in more crashes in recent years. For instance, in Canada, the council has introduced a range of limits based on localities such as the maximum speed is 40km/hr in the residential areas and 100km/hr in highways which has significantly reduced the percentage of crashes. on the other hand, the government authorities should pay attention to other potential issues such as free medical and schooling as they are the primary needs of people compared to road safety. In other words, every citizen has the right to unpaid medical and education as it is significant for the overall well-being of society. Therefore, policymakers should focus and allocate a budget to invest in building new educational institutions and facilities to provide free treatment for civilians. For example, in developed countries, everyone has equal access to all the fundamental needs, so officials have time to address other societal problems. In conclusion, although the benefits of implementing the speed limit can lower the number of accidents, I believe that the council should take measures to address the immediate problems such as education and healthcare facilities which are of primary importance than road safety.