write an IELTS essay within at least 250 words with the topic "There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?"

Nowadays, it is easy to find a wide variety of musical styles in any part of the world. Music plays a vital role in human cultures for a number of reasons, and personally I would argue that traditional music is more important than modern, international music. Music has become an essence of human life, which accompanies all of us throughout our stages of development. As children, we were taught songs by our parents and teachers as a means of learning language, or simply as a form of amusement. Children delight in singing with others, and it would appear that the act of chanting in a choir can create a connection between participants. Later in life, our musical preferences might change over time, and we come to see our favorite songs as part of our life stories. Indeed, teenagers prefer listening to vibrant music like EDM, pop or rock while middle-aged and the elderly tend to immerse themselves in folk music, classical music or bolero. In short, it is difficult to imagine life without the presence of music. In my opinion, traditional music should be valued over the international music that has become so popular. Although international music is often catchy and fun, it is fundamentally a commercial product and only exists in a short time span. Traditional music, by contrast, expresses the culture, customs and history of a country or a group of people. For instance, unlike meaningless lyrics of international music, “Quan Ho Bac Ninh” folk songs reflect Vietnamese cultural identity, especially of Northern people when couples want to express their love. It would be a real pity if modern music became so predominant that these types of conventional music disappeared. In conclusion, music is an indispensable part of human existence no matter what your age is because of the aforementioned benefits and I believe that traditional music should be given more importance than international music.