Some people think the actions of individuals can’t make a difference in protecting the environment. Others think that individuals can protect their environment. Discuss both view and state your opinion

It is often argued by some that steps taken by individuals to protect the surroundings cannot make a difference. Others, in contrast, are of the opinion that individual actions can lead to protection of the environment. While the latter position seems soundly argued, I agree with the former view because the average person lacks the political power required to ensure effective environmental protection. On the one hand, actions taken by individual community members may lead to a clean and safe habitat. That is, community members can undertake individual activities that may prevent the destruction of the environment, thus protecting it. For instance, ordinary citizens living off the coast of Accra, Ghana, organize weekly clean-up campaigns on its beaches to clear the white sands of plastic waste. This prevents the plastics from ending up in our oceans consequently protecting aquatic life from its harmful effects. On the other hand, individual actions do not make a difference in effectively protecting the environment because they do not have the state power to tackle the widespread negative activities destroying our environment. Confronting the key issues affecting our environs will require governments to take strong decisive decisions and actions. For instance, following the publication of research in 1970 which concluded that the protective ozone layer was being depleted at a rate of 3% annually, as a result of carbon emissions, most nations passed laws targeted at reducing emissions in a bid to protect the ozone. Consequently, the rate of ozone depletion was halved a decade later. In conclusion, whilst some argue that individual actions can protect the environment, I believe that these activities do not a difference because ordinary citizens do not have the state strength to undertake the quantum of actions required to produce the desired impact.