The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made overseas travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Over the last 10 years, the cost of aviation has significantly decreased. As a result, this has caused a rise in overseas travel. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. There are two main advantages associated with increased overseas travelling. One of the biggest advantages is that it has become more available to people who couldn’t afford expensive aeroplane tickets before. In the past, aeroplane tickets were very costly for those who had low income but since it became cheaper it became more available to those kinds of people. This led to them getting an opportunity to travel abroad for the first time in their lives. Another benefit is that people can now visit their families more often. Those who travel once a year can now go abroad more often to meet their relatives. This will benefit the airlines as well. The more tickets that will be sold, the more income the airlines will generate. Although the advantages are significant, the drawbacks can’t be ignored. The biggest disadvantage is that since the demand for overseas travel will increase, more aeroplanes will be needed to meet this demand. As a consequence, this will have a negative effect on the climate. If there are more aeroplanes in the air, more greenhouse gases will be released into the air causing climate change around the world. In conclusion, one cannot disregard the disadvantage of climate change that more overseas travelling will cause. Even if there are more advantages of this trend: greater accessibility to people who haven’t travelled outside their hometown before and greater frequency in the sales of overseas travelling, the disadvantages can’t be ignored.