Some governments today seek to monitor the general public’s electronic communications (in the form of phone calls, texts, and emails) saying that this reduces crime. Many people oppose this, however, saying that it erodes individual freedoms. Discuss the aspects of this debate, and give your own conclusion to the discussion

Recent years have witnessed the ever-increasing growth of high-technology crimes through electronic communications, so some governments in certain countries are looking for measures to control this phenomenon. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why I agree with the opinion. On the one hand, the further implementation of various **security solutions** has always been in our interest as it ***deters criminals and discourages crime***. Nowadays, some technological companies have combined selective ***monitoring systems*** with their devices to collect users’ personal information. This has been carefully implemented to deter misdemeanours or any other problematic activities both online and offline. For example, sensitive information like location is almost allowed access to every application on our mobile phones, which can double the count of assistance in some urgent situations, such as finding victims or criminals in kidnapping cases. On the other hand, there are some compelling reasons why other people are concerned about their liberties under danger. Firstly, users are severely worried that if it were to fall into the wrong hands, it could lead to dangerous misuse. Notably, the misuse ***in a corporate sense*** is also worrisome. Secondly, the thought of constantly being observed and monitored ***poses a threat to*** privacy and undoubtedly causes discomfort. In some circumstances, few people are obsessed with the imagination that there is somebody following them in the long term, which can result in some mental health issues, such as anxiety or obsessive-compulsive disorder. In conclusion, while some argue that there are drawbacks, the benefits of allowing the monitoring of private data only in specific situations far outweigh any adverse effects.