Some people believe that it would be beneficial if employees worked three or four days per week rather than five or six days. Why is this? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Presently, it is a prevailing phenomenon that the majority of the population of each society are working 9 to 5 or even 9 to 6 in some countries. Many work overtime during unsocial hours, early in the morning, late at night, or on holidays. Some people assert that the working days must be reduced in order to benefit the individuals. I therefore attempt to outline some possible reasons for this, predicting the obstacles that might be encountered. Obviously, having more free time would be beneficial for each person, as it would allow them to spend time with their family members and do recreational activities. Firstly, devoting time to family members would possibly prevent domestic problems, which could lead to the distribution of broken homes, single parents, and adopted children. Furthermore, they would have far more time doing hobbies like art, music or sports. This can positively affect and improve the soft skills necessary for work, such as concentration and continuous effort, which are an indispensable part of learning to do any artwork or play a musical instrument. Therefore, by giving more time to family and their interests, people can create a close-knit family that could be felt in society and also master some crucial skills, optimizing their working time tasks. On the other hand, lower incomes would damage workers’ quality of life unless they are paid as much as they have been paid. If decreasing the number of working days means that employees would earn less money, facing general nonacceptance by the labor community. However, this problem could be solved by the intervention of the government, managing a flawless timetable, and supporting citizens to compensate for their earnings loss. In addition, expectations of people have been increasing, especially during the last century due to the advent of technology, and as a result, they tend to work overtime, to improve the standard of their life. So, it is for the government to control how much people work. In conclusion, I maintain that limiting the working time society members are undertaking can have merits for both individuals and the society itself. They can master different activities and subsequently use them to increase the pace of procedures in their workplace. However, this could be practical only with government assistance and by precise planning and paying support.