The best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is by providing at least six years of free education for each child, so that all children can read, write and use numbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly implied that guaranteeing primary school education remains free would augment access to education. Some have proposed that this would be a particularly effectual solution to poverty. I completely agree with this suggestion and in the subsequent paragraphs, I will delineate why the assured provision of free primary education will alleviate poverty. Firstly, financial constraints deter several students from continuing their education. Therefore, making the government sponsor elementary schooling would assist in curtailing the school drop-out rates. It would also provide a solution to child labour and delinquency. Furthermore, research shows that developing countries suffer from alarming rates of unemployment. So, providing free primary education could not only empower the students to get better jobs but also open up several job opportunities in the education sector, thereby reducing joblessness. Secondly, providing schooling would enable individuals to acquire skills and training they would not otherwise receive. This would later help them gain better jobs and become efficacious, well-rounded citizens of the country. Providing free education would help individuals have a more promising outlook on their future and promote a positive attitude towards society. This would also encourage them to work towards reducing social problems such as poverty. Access to education also provides the assurance of an economically secure future, which would also eliminate poverty. However, one could disagree with the aforementioned points stating that there would be a considerable increase in taxation to provide free education to all, which may add to poverty rather than solve it. Additionally, schools might be overcrowded, which would affect the quality of education, thus further impacting the students’ job prospects. Finally, the provision of free education with only limited jobs may only increase competition and job insecurity, adding to deprivation. In conclusion, I believe that providing free elementary education free of charge can offer a long-term solution to developing economies because it may abate the problem of relinquishing their chance at a better future while also aiding children to hone and acquire a range of new skills and abilities.