Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In our rapidly evolving world, technological advancements are widely used by people of all ages. It is argued that some children kill their time by spending hours every day on their smartphones. This essay will discuss both why is this the case and the impact of the development. The reasons behind this phenomenon are plentiful; one of them is the contemporary advertising sphere. Advertising is a key part of modern business and should be regulated because advertisers often aim their marketing at children. Moreover, we now live in a consumer culture, consequently, we are persuaded to follow the latest trends. Although it seems safe, many children around the world have become a victim of consumerism. For instance, the game industry is at its peak nowadays because mainly covers children, who do not know the disadvantages of this. They spend all their time on their smartphones instead of going outside. I firmly agree that this phenomenon is a negative development. Although today such smartphones play a crucial role because of the age of technology, they stop the personal improvement of children around the globe. It is not a local issue, this is a widely spread problem, which leads to the collapse of humanity's ability to think. For example, music and video games are becoming the drugs of modernity. Research has shown that the average kind spends more than three hours on smartphones, whereas in the past this time was spent on outdoor activities. Furthermore, this sedentary lifestyle may be the cause of many diseases, including obesity and headache. In conclusion, such time-killing leads to overall regression of the population because children are the future of society therefore the future is in their hands. Also, I believe that this phenomenon, caused by consumerism culture, has substantial drawbacks and a potential negative development.