Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that only the people who tend to travel or work in a different country have to learn a foreign language, whereas, others believe there are many other reasons for learning a language. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that learning a language can have several purposes, such as getting familiar with other cultures and beliefs which can result in many benefits. Firstly, you can easily vast your connection circle and connect with foreigners in a proper way. Secondly, it can be very beneficial to your business even if you have no intention to immigrate to other countries to find a more decent job. For example, one of my peers in university had a great skill in speaking French and that particular skill helped him to connect with some French counterparts which led him to achieve great success. On the other hand, another group of people claim that learning a language without an intention to travel or finding an occupation in a foreign country would be a waste of time. They insist that the time which will be spent on learning a language is significantly valuable and we should spend that time on something more useful to our future. However, I do not find this argument convincing because, nowadays, the whole world is trying to expand their communication circle which plays a vital role in one’s success and I believe, people who do not find this important will regret it very soon. To conclude, in my view, there are sensible reasons why we should learn a language. Moreover, in a world of communications, it would be very illogical to see only a few reasons for learning a language.