Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that companies should levy a tariff on junk food and drinks because the health risks associated with consuming this kind of food are rising. This essay agrees that a higher rate of tax should be paid by sugary product manufacturers. Firstly, alcohol and tobacco companies already pay higher taxes; secondly, higher taxes could raise prices and lower consumption. Higher excise on liqueur and cigarettes has been proven to curb the harm caused by these substances. This revenue has been used to treat health problems associated with these products and has proven useful in advertising campaigns warning people about the dangers of alcohol and tobacco abuse. Tax from junk food can be used in the same way. The United Kingdom is a prime example, where money from smokers is used to treat lung cancer and heart disease while at the same time, pumped into health campaigns in schools to warn children about the dangers of smoking. Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. The companies would pass on these taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices, leading to people not being able to afford these products because it is too expensive. Thus junk food would soon become a luxury item and it would only be consumed occasionally, which would be less harmful to the general public's health. For instance, the cost of organic food has proven prohibitively expensive for most people, and that is why only a small percentage of the population buys it regularly. In conclusion, junk food should be taxed at a higher rate because of the good precedent set by alcohol and tobacco and the fact that the increased cost should reduce the number of sugary food people buy.