Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones have gained popularity among all ages from adults even to preschoolers. Parents share the same concerns that this electronic gadget takes their offspring hours daily. In my opinion, cutting-edge technology, urbanization, and a lack of parental monitoring are attributed to this phenomenon, a development with a myriad of bad consequences. The state-of-the-art techniques in this contemporary life allow lively and attractive video games with colours, movements and acoustic effects, which easily draw kids' attention. Their inherent nature is curiosity and being influenced by sounds and images which they find prevalent with their phones. Moreover, urbanization also contributes to this trend because less space for them to go out and play. In the past, children gathered in public areas and played traditional games such as hide-and-seek and chasing. With few outdoor playgrounds, the young have fewer options, and playing with their smartphones is a suitable one. In addition, parents are so busy that not sufficient time is spared for their offspring, leaving them to stay at home with little interaction. It seems that this would not become worse if adults spent time communicating and playing with their kids, a plausible way to prevent these young people from phones. It is apparent that this phenomenon has considerable drawbacks. Firstly, it leads to bad habits of sitting in one place and being less active. This is perhaps a part cause of a sedentary lifestyle and obesity. Secondly, it also damages communication skills between parents and kids, human with human. It is no exaggeration to say that they are wasting time surfing the Internet or watching TV instead of socializing with others, even with their family members. Last but not least, this negative development, to some extent, brings about detrimental health problems such as optical and hearing abilities due to blue arrays emitted from the screen. In conclusion, I would contend that technology, urban development and insufficient parental care are dominant causes of the commonplace image that children spend hours on a phone, which is noticeable to be a harmful evolution.