Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Youngsters may sometimes find themselves highly influenced by their peers. Although some individuals believe that this influence is essential, despite the fact that they are overlooking its detrimental effects due to the following reasons. To begin with, youngsters place their peers as the second role model, after their parents. Consequently, due to the promising influence, children would not distinguish between the beneficial and deleterious ones, prior to considering their friends as their role models in any situation. Firstly, involving misconduct taken after their friend will prevent from them reaching their goals. Moreover, looking up to classmates can lead to severe anxiety. To clarify, establishing a person with distinct desires and perspectives as a role model will harm the young person since he cannot be the same as his peer in all the situations, prior to experiencing a high level of stress. To illustrate, scientists have indicated that those who take pleasure in artistry subjects may get used to looking up to a person who enjoys science and try to reach them which is impossible and could cause a stressful situation, On the other hand, some may claim that this notion would lead to a sense of rivalry, becoming a source of motivation for children. However, they have overlooked the fact that kids are not mature enough to choose the right person to compete. Therefore, if they choose a partner with the least indulgence in personality traits, it would serve them with lower self-discipline rather than a motivational source. To conclude, there are numerous disadvantages to this notion since it can cause anxiety and misbehaviour. In addition, the advantages of it are too high of a price to be paid.