To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

The potential perils associated with the usage of nuclear energy have created tremendous fear for many people. In my range of understanding, I think although it is true nuclear power poses various threats to life, its benefits would also bring certain detrimental effects on humans. Before all else, there is a scarce number of advancements that nuclear automation carries. In particular, the medical industry has integrated this radiation machinery to aid in curing diseases such as cancer. Applying it to the body can burn away cancerous cells which gives the patient a higher chance to live. Moreover, nuclear energy is considered the largest source of clean power. Several countries have been adopting this as a method for cheap and renewable source of energy. On the other spectrum, despite its advantages during the last century. Many people still hold that its disadvantages and misuses far outweigh its positive aspects. Firstly, the industrialization of nuclear energy produces nuclear waste which is exceedingly strenuous to dispose of. Secondly, the usage of radiation in medical treatments is not always successful but rather painful and risky. Lastly and most importantly, its uses for military purposes are the most argumentative topic of all. In other words, nuclear weapons have immensely traumatized victims of the radiation wars in the past century. For instance, based on my research, thousands of lives have been taken away in Hiroshima and Nagasaki after the first two nuclear bombs were invented. Despite its life-threatening outcomes, some countries such as Russia did not bring a halt to the construction of radiation weapons. To recapitulate all the facts, although various lucrative applications of nuclear technology bring improvements, it is difficult not to consider the detrimental effects it carries.