People continue to commit crimes even after being penalized for their wrongdoings. Why do you think this happens? How can crimes be stopped?

It is becoming a trend where criminals commit repeated felonies despite being punished in the past. There are a plethora of reasons contributing to this behaviour such as depression, unemployment, etc, The government and other Health Institutes should come forward and aid people with criminal pasts to overcome their bad attitude towards society. To begin with, all are not born criminals, circumstances and situations push people to indulge in wrong behaviour. It is, either because of their family upbringing or friends circle that triggers them to commit assaults. For example, a child brought up in poverty who has no access to proper education, ends up being unemployed. In order to overcome his hunger, he starts pickpocketing. Eventually, Small crime leads to bigger ones in the future. Similarly, bad companies also attract people to endorse bad behaviour. To illustrate, it was recently reported by the Times of India that, more college students are getting involved in the drug dealing business than ever before. This is solely because they have a tight network between them. Even after, getting caught by the cops and after serving their time in Jail, they tend to commit offences repeatedly because there is no respect for them in society post their release from prison. Once a felony, always a felony and people lose trust in these individuals and are reluctant to give them a second opportunity. Thus, pushing them into depression which in turn, triggers them to commit crimes again. Having said that, I am of the opinion that the government should create more job opportunities for them and conduct several seminars on how to become a good citizen. In addition, Medical Institutes and Mental Wellness Centers should come forward and give them free counselling to overcome the aversion they have towards our society. Overall, the issue can be handled easily by partnering with the right professionals at the right time. I am very positive that we, as a community, can definitely downsize the crime rate and create a harmonious living environment.