People after retirement often require financial assistance. Some think the government should be responsible for this, while others believe individuals should make provisions for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that the government should financially aid people after they retire, while others suggest that a person should arrange this on their own. While retired folks might get some relief after they receive payments from the state, I believe one should look towards building their own economic independence. Someone who has just retired, indeed, would benefit from the money the authorities send them. This can ease them into a retired life and will help them settle in slowly, which normally is not an easy process. This will provide the ex-employees with mental backing regarding their finances. As a result, they will not have to go through the initial anxiety and confusion that follows it. For example, the Indian government has a mandatory salary deduction called the employee provident fund that helps in collecting a corpus throughout a worker's total years of work, which after their final exit, can be taken out in installments or in one go. However, this will not nearly be enough to beat inflation and lead a comfortable life. Therefore, it is of paramount importance that a person imagines the kind of life he or she would want to live after being retired and hence, financially plan everything accordingly. There are many instruments one can use to grow their money so that they do not have to rely on any external assistance. For instance, one can start investing in mutual funds as a long-term goal, which gives an almost guaranteed 11% return on average. The more you keep the money locked into it, the more the compounding effect does its magic. This is why, I believe that already having a financial backup for retirement during the early stages of your career takes significance over anything else. In conclusion, relying on monetary aid from authorities after retirement is ill-advised. Instead, a better thing to do would be to strategise the deployment of pounds and dollars from the early professional days so that one can enjoy their post-work life in comfort.