More people are stressed today than ever before. What are the causes of this stress? What can be done to address this problem?

Sandesh is a problem solver with excellent analytical abilities and critical thinking. There have been numerous occasions when Sandesh came up with remarkable ideas to overcome project stagnation or explain observed phenomena. For instance, during testing, reading a single signal value at each measurement location consistently produced erroneous localization results. The accuracy significantly improved when multiple values were read and their mean was used for computation. Though this improvement seemed axiomatic, the actual reason eluded us. The following day, Sandesh proposed modeling signal noises as Gaussian, where adding them together would approach their mean value, i.e., zero, thereby enhancing accuracy. That was simply brilliant! Moreover, he is a meticulous, disciplined, devoted and resilient researcher. He sought to find reasons even for slight fluctuations in a curve or aberrations in data. Despite living an hour away from the campus, he often worked till late hours, either on the lab fixing UAS after a heartbreaking crash, or on the campus ground setting up data points under flashlights for the next early morning test. This attitude will lend him very well as he embarks on an intensive graduate study. Sandesh has sufficient communication skills both written and oral, or formal and informal. He frequently visited my office to update his progress or seek guidance. Never in this journey did I feel that we were lacking enough communication. His final thesis report was written to a high standard, and he was among the best presenters in the defense articulately speaking with complete clarity of thoughts, and adeptly answering all the raised questions. Currently, he is working on a manuscript for a journal which we are hopeful of publication. He was also actively engaged in outreach activities. He sought and received support from Calcgen Nepal and Prokura Innovations, the start-ups working on drones in Nepal. Furthermore, he also proactively reached and presented a proposal to Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) for funding under the program ‘Young Scientist Grant’ to continue working on it after his graduation. Despite the positive developments, the program was unfortunately scrapped citing insufficient funds from the government. Finally, Sandesh is also a delightful individual to be around. A great storyteller, an amateur sportsperson, musician and singer, he had always enriched the vibrancy and the diversity of his community at our campus and I believe that he will carry it to his graduate school. Sandesh envisions his future in research and academia. With acceptance to your graduate program, he will be a step closer. I am extremely pleased to help him move forward in life, and offer my strongest recommendation with full confidence in his ability to succeed. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions or require additional information.